Skip to main content

Android's Factory Reset May Not Be What You Expect

The security outfit Avast has written up a breathless advertorial claiming that selling an old Android phone exposes all your personal data—even after a factory reset. The company bought 20 used phones off eBay that the sellers thought had been wiped out, but by using forensics techniques, Avast was able to recover the previous owner's data. The melodramatic descriptions of the leftover data includes "family photos of children," "photos of women in various stages of undress," and "selfies of what appear to be the previous owner’s manhood," along with the usual texts and e-mails. Like all Anti-virus company bulletins, the recommended solution is to install the company's product, in this case the freemium "Avast! Anti-Theft" app.

While the tone is definitely over-the-top, the issue raised is legitimate. It's something that affects most computers: there is a big difference between "deletion" and "secure erase." Deleting something—either a single file or a whole partition—usually involves changing an index that points to the thing, rather than deleting the thing itself. Since only the pointer to the bits is changed, and not the actual bits, recovery software can reconstruct the contents of the "deleted" information. While you could make every deletion or partition wipe physically erase the bits, this is usually a waste of time, and, on flash memory, it would reduce the life of the device.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

VPN Use Is Up, Up, Up

Since the repeal of the Broadband Consumer Privacy Rules, VPN use and traffic is rather predictably spiking, according to many VPN providers. VPNs are not the b-all and end-all of privacy though, and indeed the usual cretins have stepped in to provide shady VPN services that may actually sell on user data.

Also remember:
ISPs still track your location data and DNS records, even if you're using a VPN. Similarly, a VPN doesn't stop a company from using on-device snoopware to track you (remember Carrier IQ?). Neither will it stop ISPs from charging you a premium for privacy (something both AT&T and Comcast have already experimented with). Nor will a VPN stop a company from using your credit score to provide worse customer service (something CableONE has crowed about). DSL Reports

Microsoft's Mild Mea Culpa Over Windows 10 Obscure Upgrade "Choice"

In a cleansing act before the turn of the year, a Microsoft bigwig has admitted that they may have gotten a little carried away in their zeal to upgrade as many users as possible to Windows 10.
Specifically, Chief Marketing Officer Chris Capossela referred to the upgrade notification that appeared to be deliberately deceptive in the way it handled a users response. If a user clicked the red "X" at the top right of the notice, that closed the dialog box but went ahead and installed the upgrade anyway.
To actually not accept the upgrade, you had to click a link in the notification window itself. Not a few users would come back later and find their system upgraded to Windows 10, or in the process of doing so, when they thought they had expressed their wish not to do so. "Within a couple of hours of that hitting the world, with the listening systems we have, we knew that we had gone too far and then, of course, it takes some time to roll out the update that changes that …

pCloud Cloud Storage On Linux

As a cheapskate user of the Dropbox free plan, I was looking to see if there was another provider that offered a little more free storage than the 2GB from Dropbox (I actually have 2.5GB, due to a couple of bonus offers).
After a bit of research, I came up with Swiss-based pCloud: it has a client for Linux, as well as Windows, Mac, iOS and Android. The free tier offers 10GB of Cloud storage with no file size limits, which is fantastic for my (pretty basic) needs. You can set up your account first from the pCloud website, or during the client install process.